The Resource Ill will : a novel, Dan Chaon

Ill will : a novel, Dan Chaon

Label
Ill will : a novel
Title
Ill will
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Dan Chaon
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Two sensational unsolved crimes--one in the past, another in the present--are linked by one man's memory and self-deception in this chilling novel of literary suspense from National Book Award finalist Dan Chaon. "We are always telling a story to ourselves, about ourselves," Dustin Tillman likes to say. It's one of the little mantras he shares with his patients, and it's meant to be reassuring. But what if that story is a lie? A psychologist in suburban Cleveland, Dustin is drifting through his forties when he hears the news: His adopted brother, Rusty, is being released from prison. Thirty years ago, Rusty received a life sentence for the massacre of Dustin's parents, aunt, and uncle. The trial came to symbolize the 1980s hysteria over Satanic cults; despite the lack of physical evidence, the jury believed the outlandish accusations Dustin and his cousin made against Rusty. Now, after DNA analysis has Meanwhile, one of Dustin's patients gets him deeply engaged in a string of drowning deaths involving drunk college boys. At first Dustin dismisses talk of a serial killer as paranoid thinking, but as he gets wrapped up in their amateur investigation, Dustin starts to believe that there's more to the deaths than coincidence. Soon he becomes obsessed, crossing all professional boundaries--and putting his own family in harm's way. From one of today's most renowned practitioners of literary suspense, Ill Will is an intimate thriller about the failures of memory and the perils of self-deception. In Dan Chaon's nimble, chilling prose, the past looms over the present, turning each into a haunted place. PRAISE FOR DAN CHAON Among the Missing "Unforgettable. hums with life and wry humor. The stories sneak resolutely up on you, like new weather that hits before you know it."--The New York Times Book Review "One of those writers who possess an uncanny and seemingly otherwordly understanding of the human condition. Chaon [is] a remarkable chronicler of a very American kind of sadness, much in the tradition of Richard Yates, Raymond Carver, and Denis Johnson."--San Francisco Chronicle You Remind Me of Me "Remarkable. weaves the threads into a whole that is not only satisfying but devastating."--Entertainment Weekly (Editor's Choice) "Extraordinary. renews my faith in the unique capacity of literature to help us understand and ultimately respect ourselves and the strange, baffling, complex figures we all can be."--Houston Chronicle Await Your Reply "Stunning. Like the finest of his storytelling heroes, Mr. Chaon manages to bridge the gap between literary and pulp fiction with a clever, insinuating book equally satisfying to fans of either genre."--The New York Times "A riveting thriller, chock-full of plot twists. There's a bristling momentum that develops, as in any great tale of suspense. [Chaon] writes with an eloquence rarely seen in the world of page-turners."--Los Angeles Times Book Review Stay Awake "Eerily beautiful. [Chaon] is the modern day John Cheever."--Boston Sunday Globe "There are not many fiction writers who can do what Dan Chaon can do. [He is] a literary force."--The Philadelphia Inquirer"--
  • "In 1983, Dustin Tillman's family--his parents and his aunt and uncle--were murdered in a shocking massacre. His foster brother, Rusty, was convicted of the crime, in a trial that was steeped in the "Satanic Cult" paranoia of the 1980s. Thirty years later, Rusty's conviction is overturned, and suddenly Dustin, now a psychologist, must question whether his testimony that imprisoned his brother was accurate. When one of his patients, an ex-cop, gets him deeply involved in a series of unsolved murders, Dustin's happy suburban life starts to unravel, as his uncertainties about his past and present life begin to merge"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Target audience
adult
Ill will : a novel, Dan Chaon
Label
Ill will : a novel, Dan Chaon
Publication
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9780345476043/LC.GIF&client=mvsal&upc=&oclc={systemControlNumber
Dimensions
25 cm.
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'Indian Lake Public Library, Town of': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Gloversville Public Library': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Crandall Public Library (Glens Falls)': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Horicon Free Public Library (Brant Lake)': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Waterford Public Library': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Community Library (Cobleskill)': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Margaret Reaney Memorial Library (St. Johnsville)': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Johnstown Public Library': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Glenville Branch - Schenectady County Public Libra': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Niskayuna Branch - Schenectady County Public Libra': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Middleburgh Library': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Saratoga Springs Public Library': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Burnt Hills - Town of Ballston Community Library': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Johnsburg Library, Town of': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225', 'Rotterdam Branch - Schenectady County Public Libra': 'http://pac.sals.edu/polaris/view.aspx?cn=1270225'}
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
480 pages
Isbn
9780345476043
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2016034066
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
n
Note
SALBT
System control number
  • (SKY)sky283478827
  • 1258797

Library Locations

    • Saratoga Springs Public LibraryBorrow it
      49 Henry Street, Saratoga Springs, NY, 12866-3271, US
      43.081133 -73.783407
Processing Feedback ...